Vienna – a day on the U-Bahn

As my days in Vienna are winding down, I decided that it may be a good idea to see the city. That basically meant I flew into a panic phase and started the last-minute “Oh My God there are still so many things I needed to do and I will do them today.” It turns out that I’ve been here for 10 months or so but spend most of my weekends in other countries (yes…I haven’t updated as well as i would have liked). I started on the U3 line that runs from Ottakring, going direction Simmering. The idea was to stop at every train station and take a picture. So a long detour on Mariahilferstrasse (HUGE shopping street) only meant that I didn’t go back on train as scheduled, so I will have to continue another time! The evening ended with fish and chips with friends in the 9th District.

 

Albertgasse

Albertgasse, waiting for #2 train going to Ottakring

Ottakring

Designated starting point. Beginning of U3 line.

U-Bahn

U-Bahn sign

Station

A Photo mural at one of the stations

Market

Meiselmarkt

Mural

Photo mural at one of the stations

Hofburg Palace, at some point was Hitlers Headquarters during the war

Statue

Statue at Hofburg

Horses

Cart horses waiting for next ride

statue

Statue commemorating the plague

Stephansplatz

Roof of Stephansdom

lamp

Lamp in a random courtyard we stumbled upon

 

2 comments

Leave a Reply

